Guest Posts

A Parent’s Experience with Childhood Apraxia of Speech

CASANA Logo

Image: Apraxia-KIDS

In my latest guest post, on the excellent parenting website Science of Mom, I talk about my daughter’s struggles with speech and her Apraxia diagnosis:

A Parent’s Experience with Childhood Apraxia of Speech
By David Ozab

“Don’t worry, she’ll catch up.”

I heard that sentence from so many parents around Anna’s second birthday. We were worried about her speech; she was talking all the time but we could barely understand her while kids her age and younger spoke clearly. “Don’t worry she’ll catch up,” people would say. I said the same thing to myself. I figured it would just happen. Her speech was like an out-of-focus photograph. Sooner or later, I thought, it would snap into focus.

My wife Julia wasn’t buying it. She thought something was wrong, and she was right.

Read the whole guest post at Science of Mom, and other posts on Childhood Apraxia of Speech at Fatherhood Etc.

Leave a Reply

