Teasers

Drip, Drip

A drop of water frozen by flash

Photo: Michael Melgar (CC BY-SA 3.0)

A funny scene from Chapter One of A Smile for Anna. After re-reading this, I’m amazed that I survived to see our baby daughter . . .

I remember one evening. Julia and I were sitting up in bed reading. She’d been visiting the bathroom a lot lately, so I decided to have a little fun with her.

“Drip . . . drip . . . drip . . .”

“Stop it!”

“Drip . . . drip . . . drip . . .”

“Thanks a lot. Now I have to pee!”

She put down her book, got up, and walked in to the bathroom.

“It’s a good thing I love you,” she said through the door, “or you’d get a punch in the face!”

I smiled and returned to reading.

After about a minute, she walked out the bathroom and got back into bed. I didn’t say a word. She picked up her book again.

“Drip . . . drip . . . drip . . .”

“Stop it!”

“Drip . . . drip . . . drip . . .”

She slapped the book down on the mattress.

“Now I gotta go again!”

Back to the bathroom she went, and I wondered if I deserved a punch in the face.

Yeah.

She returned to bed and picked up her book once more. Without looking up she told me the joke had played out.

“Don’t say another word.”

“I’m done.”

A few more minutes passed as both of us read in silence.

“I don’t believe this.”

Once more, she got up and walked to the bathroom. At least she couldn’t blame me anymore. She stayed in a little longer this time. She was fighting nausea too so I started to worry.

“You feeling okay?”

“Yeah . . . I just want to make sure I’m done.”

“You want your book?”

She laughed. “How about a pillow? I might end up spending the night in here.”

Here are some more teasers I’ve posted on this site and on others.

Look for more teasers in the weeks and months ahead.

Leave a Reply

