Reading

A Book by Any Other Name

Faith Unravelled by Rachel Held Evans
I am a big fan of Rachel Held Evans. She is an excellent writer and a fantastic voice in the online faith world. I’ve read both her books, Evolving in Monkey Town and A Year of Biblical Womanhood. I quoted her in my Women of Valor, Women of Words post and and I’ve shared her blog posts many times at Fatherhood Etc. I participated in her Week of Mutuality synchroblog, and she quoted from my post (which was quite exciting).

Well she has a new book. It just came out yesterday and I can’t wait to read it.

“… it brings me great joy to announce today that Evolving in Monkey Town has officially been re-released by Zondervan with a new title and new cover.  Faith Unraveled: How a Girl Who Knew All the Answers Learned to Ask the Questions hits the shelves today.

Oh, okay. I’ve already read it. But I know it’s a really great book!

Reading Rachel’s announcement got me thinking about titles, and how attached we become to them. I’m sure the wonderful people at Zondervan decided Faith Unraveled was a better title and it would sell more books.

Awesome. This is a book that deserves to sell more copies. It should make Rachel rich, or comfortable, at least. It’s a great book.

But I like the old title better. It’s distinctive and quirky and I know enough about the history behind it to get the reference. And I’m not sure how I would feel in Rachel’s place.

I do know that I’m happy for her and I hope a lot more people read it this time. So if you haven’t read Evolving in Monkey Town, pick up a copy of Faith Unraveled.

There are both excellent books!

And at least they kept the “monkey” on the cover.

One thought on “A Book by Any Other Name

  1. hey david, just found your blog … love it! I had the same reaction to the renaming of Rachel’s book 🙂 Great to meet you! looking forward to hearing more from you … k

Leave a Reply

