Music

My Amp

Font view of amplifier

Roland Cube Chorus 60 (Photo: Audiofanzine)

Purchased in 1983, during my senior year in high school, the Roland Cube Chorus 60 was both my practice and performing amp for the next ten years. It’s a 60 watt amplifier with a very nice solid-state overdrive, a three-spring reverb tank, and a sweet chorus effect made famous by the earlier JC-120. It is a great sounding amplifier at any volume and when cranked kept up with a 100 watt bass amp/cabinet combo and a full drum kit. (Yes, we were a three piece and played a lot of Rush covers.)

Top view of amplifier

Amp controls (Photo: Audiofanzine)

The top panel features normal and overdrive inputs, which would have been handy if I’d ever gotten that twelve string electric I always wanted. The pots control overdrive level, pre-amp volume, master volume, a three-band equalizer, and a dry/wet mix for the reverb. I got the best sound by cranking the overdrive and the pre-amp, and raising or lowering the master as needed.

Back panel of amplifier.

Back panel with inputs and outputs (Photo: Audiofanzine)

The back panel includes an effects loop, allowing me to run my pre-amp signal into my distortion and other effects pedals, a headphone jack for practice at home, and chorus/reverb and external speaker outputs. Had I owned a second sixty watt amp I could have used the chorus/reverb out to simulate a JC-120, but if I’d had that kind of money to spend I’d have just bought the 120. As for the external speaker jack, I toyed with the idea of buying a 2 x 12 cabinet, but never did.

Finally, the three jacks on the left are footswitch inputs designed to be used with the included FS-3 Footswitch.

Three-button footswitch.

Roland FS 3 Footswitch (Photo: Reverb.com)

The jacks are color coded to match the switches. In my case, I plugged the black switch into the overdrive, the red switch into the chorus, and the grey switch into the reverb.

All in all it was an exceptional amp for the money at the time and I got a lot of use out of it. After ten years of lugging it everywhere it had worn corners, a chipped nameplate, and a loose spring. But it still works and it still sounds great.

To give you a taste, here’s a demo off YouTube that showcases the amp’s clean and overdriven sounds.

Now that I’ve introduced you to my guitar and my amplifier, I’ll start talking about pedals next week. I own several—they’re all vintage and each has its unique charms. Also check out my Guitar Stuff board on Pinterest to see a wide variety of guitars and guitar gear that I admire from afar.

2 thoughts on “My Amp

  1. Pingback: My Pedal Board, Part Two | David Ozab

  2. Pingback: My Pedal Board, Part Three | David Ozab

Leave a Reply

